7 Japan Travel Books To Inspire Future Trips

7 Japan Travel Books To Inspire Future Trips The Only Gaijin In The Village

Good travel writing can transport us to places we may never see, revisit a beloved area, or even put a new destination firmly on our radar. We can learn about a country from the perspective of new eyes, not unlike our own, or experienced locals that can take us deeper culturally than we ever could into these new places.

Good travel writing can transport us to places we may never see

Enjoying new destinations from the comfort of our homes is the easiest way to broaden our horizons and enjoy a good story at the same time. Here are some of the best travel books about Japan, written in English, to inspire our own adventures. Do you have children in need of a new read? Try our English books for kids’ selection instead!


1. The Only Gaijin in the Village


If you’re looking for a lighthearted read that’s guaranteed to make you laugh while also highlighting some interesting facts and quirks about life in rural Japan then you will love this book! Perfect for fans of Bill Bryson, Scottish writer Iain Maloney and his Japanese wife Minori move from Tokyo to the Japanese countryside and introduce us to the colorful characters they meet along the way.

Much of the book is dedicated to Iain’s early life in Japan and will resonate with anyone who’s moved countries and had to navigate a brand new life abroad. Those who have lived abroad long term will also relate to the challenges of being accepted and that age-old question ‘so, when are you going home’. This book is guaranteed to make you laugh, but it’s emotional moments hit hard and by the end, you’ll feel like you’ve made a friend.

…continue reading